Jr. Canadiens’ Robinson named OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour MVP


Toronto Jr. Canadiens forward Dylan Robinson is the 2018 OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour MVP, leading the Jr. Canadiens to their second OHL Cup title and first since 2008 with 11 points over seven contests.

Robinson has been awarded the Tim Adams Memorial Trophy, given annually to the Most Valuable Player of the Minor Midget showcase.

The Pickering, Ont. native had a goal in the Jr. Canadiens’ 5-1 Championship Final victory over the Vaughan Kings, bringing his overall total to six goals and five assists.

Robinson entered Championship play with points in five straight games, beginning with a goal and an assist in a 4-0 win over the Don Mills Flyers on Wednesday. He followed that up with a goal and two assists in an 8-0 triumph over the Thunder Bay Kings later in the day. The 6-foot-1, 175Ib. centreman continued his production on Friday, scoring a goal and an assist in a 5-2 win over the Brantford 99ers.

Robinson’s contributions continued into the playoff rounds as he registered a goal and an assist in a 6-1 quarter-final win over the Sun County Panthers before lighting the lamp again in a thrilling 3-2 overtime win over the Toronto Marlboros in the semi-finals.

Additionally, Robinson led the Jr. Canadiens in shots on goal, finishing sixth in the tournament with 28 to his credit. He was also among the showcase’s top faceoff men, going 49-of-86 at the dot for a 57 percent success rate.


Tim Adams Memorial Trophy Winners (MVP):
2018 – Dylan Robinson –
Toronto Jr. Canadiens (6G, 5A) 
2017 – Mike Petizian
 – Mississauga Reps (5G, 8A)
2016 – Andrei Berezinskiy
 – York Simcoe Express (5-0, 2.09 GAA)
2015 – Ryan McLeod
 – Toronto Marlboros (3G, 4A)
2014 – Michael McLeod –
 Toronto Marlboros (7G, 4A)
2013 – Adam Craievich – 
Oakville Rangers (5G, 2A)
2012 – Connor McDavid – 
Toronto Marlboros (11G, 8A)
2011 – Aaron Berisha
 – Toronto Marlboros (8G, 5A)
2010 – Sean Monahan
 – Mississauga Rebels (7G, 6A)
2009 – Lucas Lessio – Toronto Marlboros (5G, 6A)
2008 – John McFarland – Toronto Jr. Canadiens (8G, 7A)
2007 – Casey Cizikas – Mississauga IceDogs (2G, 1A)
2006 – Steven Stamkos – Markham Waxers (4G, 7A)
2005 – Sam Gagner – Toronto Marlies (7G, 10A)
2004 – Harrison Reed – York Simcoe Express
2003 – Jhase Sniderman – Toronto Young Nats

Tim Adams was a graduate of the Greater Toronto Hockey League and a long time coach of both the Toronto Marlboros and Toronto Young Nationals. His life-long commitment to minor hockey truly demonstrated his passion for the game. Tim was unfortunately taken from us at an early age after a courageous battle with cancer. Presenters of the award in 2016 were his three children Sarah Adams, Bryan Adams, and Alanna Keene.

More News
OHL Cup Memories: McDavid's record-setting performance
2 months ago
Wright looks back on sensational OHL Cup experience
2 months ago
Monahan recounts OHL Cup experience 10 years later
2 months ago
2019-20 Minor Midget Player of the Year Awards
2 months ago
OHL Cup Memories: Monahan powers wild card Rebels to showcase supremacy
2 months ago
OHL Cup Memories: Strome's big moment
2 months ago